Monday, June 8, 2015

The Spire Looms Large


Simon Spurrier and Jeff Stokely have paired their talents in the past for Six-Gun Gorilla from BOOM! Studios. That series was met with the requisite level of acclaim and praise, so teaming the two of them up for another go-round only made sense. And that's exactly what BOOM! Studios is doing in The Spire, a new series that features the top cop of a sprawling structure with over a million inhabitants dealing with a triple homicide on her hands—and a new boss who can’t stand her.

“Si and Jeff are an unstoppable team and a powderkeg of ideas,” said BOOM! Studios Editor-in-Chief Matt Gagnon. “After Six-Gun Gorilla, we absolutely had to bring them back for an encore. This team has endless imagination and a pure joy for the medium; The Spire is a genre-defying manifestation of what they stand for creatively. I couldn’t be more proud or excited about a series we’re publishing.”

The Spire is a mountain of metal and stone that rises from the toxic nowherelands; a city of twisting tunnels, grinding elevators, ancient machinery, and home to over one million human and non-human residents. Shå, the only citizen of her species, is Commander of the Watch: responsible for keeping order despite the racist views of those around her. When a string of grisly murders occurs on the eve of the new Baroness's coronation, Shå is tasked with bringing the killer to justice... and picking apart the wider mysteries tangled around the crime. But the city’s new ruler seems sets to usher in a more xenophobic age, and Shå swiftly finds she has far more than one enemy at her back…

The Spire #1 (of 8) arrives in comic shops on July 1st with an oversized 28 pages of story and a main cover by Stokely for the price of $3.99 under Diamond order code MAY151076. Also available in a limited quantity are a Jackpot variant cover by Aaron Conley, a 10 Years incentive cover by Rob Guillory and a retailer incentive cover by David LaFuente. The Final Order Cutoff deadline for retailers is June 8th.

Full press release below.
'The Spire' Looms Large, a New Limited Series from the Creative Team Behind 'Six-Gun Gorilla,' Simon Spurrier and Jeff Stokely

The Spire #1 Jackpot Cover by Aaron Conley
The Spire #1 Jackpot Cover by Aaron Conley

The Spire #1 10 Years Cover by Rob Guillory (full wraparound image shown)
The Spire #1 10 Years Cover by Rob Guillory (full wraparound image shown)

The Spire #1 Incentive Cover by David LaFuente
The Spire #1 Incentive Cover by David LaFuente
June 5, 2015 (Los Angeles, Calif.) - The top cop of a sprawling structure with over a million inhabitants has a triple homicide on her hands—and a new boss who can’t stand her. That’s the premise behind The Spire, a new limited series from Simon Spurrier and Jeff Stokely, the team that created the critically acclaimed BOOM! Studios series Six-Gun Gorilla. The duo reunites to create a murder-mystery set in a fantastical apocalyptic future in the vein of East of West and Jim Henson’s The Dark Crystal.

“Si and Jeff are an unstoppable team and a powderkeg of ideas,” said BOOM! Studios Editor-in-Chief Matt Gagnon. “After Six-Gun Gorilla, we absolutely had to bring them back for an encore. This team has endless imagination and a pure joy for the medium; The Spire is a genre-defying manifestation of what they stand for creatively. I couldn’t be more proud or excited about a series we’re publishing.”

The Spire is a mountain of metal and stone that rises from the toxic nowherelands; a city of twisting tunnels, grinding elevators, ancient machinery, and home to over one million human and non-human residents. Shå, the only citizen of her species, is Commander of the Watch: responsible for keeping order despite the racist views of those around her. When a string of grisly murders occurs on the eve of the new Baroness's coronation, Shå is tasked with bringing the killer to justice... and picking apart the wider mysteries tangled around the crime. But the city’s new ruler seems sets to usher in a more xenophobic age, and Shå swiftly finds she has far more than one enemy at her back…

Praise for The Spire #1:

The Spire is fantastic! Naked imagination + actual naked people = I’m in.” - Brian K. Vaughan (Saga, Y: The Last Man)

“Devoured The Spire by Spurrier and Stokely. Fantasy that's hard like Perdido Street Station, soft like Labyrinth, and weird like both. STRONG!” - Kieron Gillen (The Wicked + The Divine)

“Great police procedural in a world worthy of and reminiscent of Miyazaki.” - Paul Cornell (Doctor Who)

“Read and loved The Spire #1 from [Spurrier] and [Stokely]—art, color, story, all a cut above. Really beautiful book. Pre-order this.” - Brian Wood (Rebels, Moon Knight)

The Spire by [Spurrier] and [Stokely] is fantastic! Don’t miss out—pre-order now!” - Jeff Lemire (Descender, Hawkeye)

“Okay, I got to read an advance copy of The Spire, written by by [Spurrier]. Holy crap. This thing is an EPIC.” - Gail Simone (Swords of Sorrow, Red Sonja)

The Spire #1 (of 8) arrives in comic shops on July 1st with an oversized 28 pages of story and a main cover by series artist Jeff Stokely for the price of $3.99 under Diamond order code MAY151076. Also available in a limited quantity are a Jackpot variant cover by Aaron Conley (Sabertooth Swordsman), a 10 Years incentive cover by Rob Guillory (Chew), and a retailer incentive cover by David LaFuente (Batman Eternal).

The Final Order Cutoff deadline for retailers is June 8th. Not sure where to find your nearest comic retailer? Use comicshoplocator.com or findacomicshop.com to find one! It’s also available for order directly from boom-studios.com.
ABOUT BOOM! STUDIOS
Founded by Ross Richie in 2005, Diamond Gem Award-winning “Best Publisher” BOOM! Studios (boom-studios.com) generates a constellation of best-selling Eisner and Harvey Award-winning original and licensed comic books and graphic novels with the industry’s top talent. BOOM! Studios is comprised of four distinct imprints. The original Studios imprint is home to Mike Carey's Suicide Risk; James Tynion IV's The Woods; Mark Waid's Irredeemable; Sons of Anarchy; and Big Trouble in Little China. Steven Grant’s graphic novel 2 Guns was released as a feature film from Universal Pictures, starring Denzel Washington and Mark Wahlberg. BOOM!’s all-ages imprint KaBOOM! publishes Charles Schulz’ Peanuts; Jim Davis’ Garfield; Cartoon Network’s Adventure Time, Regular Show, The Amazing World of Gumball, and Steven Universe; Mike Kunkel’s Herobear and the Kid; and Natasha Allegri's Bee and PuppyCat. BOOM!'s experimental imprint BOOM! Box publishes The Midas Flesh and Lumberjanes. In June 2013, BOOM! acquired Archaia Entertainment (archaia.com). Archaia is the Eisner and Harvey Award-winning graphic novel publisher of Mouse Guard, Cow Boy, Gunnerkrigg Court, Rust, and Jim Henson’s Tale of Sand. In October 2013, BOOM! Studios entered into a unique first-look relationship with 20th Century Fox, giving the studio access to its library of titles and giving the publisher access to Fox's vast catalog of films. In August 2014, BOOM! Studios began a similar first-look relationship with 20th Century Fox TV to develop properties for the small screen.

0 comments:

Post a Comment