Tuesday, June 28, 2016

BOOM! Studios to Publish Spanish-Language Version of Sombra


BOOM! Studios is focused on worldwide domination. And if they can't accomplish that, they'll settle for the next best thing in reaching a wider audience for its upcoming limited series Sombra. BOOM! Studios announced it will publish a Spanish-language version day and date alongside the English-language version. Additionally, BOOM! has partnered with publisher Editorial Kamite to publish Spanish-language editions of the Sombra limited series in Mexico day and date.

In Sombra, writer Justin Jordan tackles a provocative topic—the violent drug cartels of Mexico—partnering with artist Raúl Treviño, who lives in Mexico and is drawing on his first-hand experiences to inform the story. A DEA agent who disappeared in Mexico years ago and presumed dead has resurfaced and is now out-brutalizing some of the cartels he was sent to investigate. His daughter—also a DEA agent—has been tasked with stopping him…by any means necessary.

Sombra #1 (of 4) arrives in comic shops on July 20th with a main cover by internationally renowned illustrator Jilipollo for the price of $3.99 under Diamond order code MAY161222. The Spanish-language version features a cover illustrated by series artist Treviño and bears Diamond code MAY168415. Also available is an Final Order Cutoff (FOC) incentive cover by Chris Brunner (Diamond code MAY168414) that can be ordered in any quantity. Readers interested in reserving a copy of issue #1 should contact their nearest comic retailer. The FOC deadline for retailers is June 27th.

Full press release below.
BOOM! Studios to Publish 
Spanish-Language Version of Sombra

Sombra #1 Main Cover by Jilipollo

June 27, 2016 (Los Angeles, Calif.) - To reach a wider audience for its upcoming limited series Sombra, BOOM! Studios announced it will publish a Spanish-language version day and date alongside the English-language version.

In addition, BOOM! has partnered with publisher Editorial Kamite to publish Spanish-language editions of the Sombra limited series in Mexico day and date.
In Sombra, writer Justin Jordan (John Flood, Spread) tackles a provocative topic—the violent drug cartels of Mexico—partnering with artist Raúl Treviño, who lives in Mexico and is drawing on his first-hand experiences to inform the story. A DEA agent who disappeared in Mexico years ago and presumed dead has resurfaced and is now out-brutalizing some of the cartels he was sent to investigate. His daughter—also a DEA agent—has been tasked with stopping him…by any means necessary. Sombra is perfect for fans of Scalped, the novels Heart of Darkness and Savages, or the film Apocalypse Now.
Sombra #1 (of 4) arrives in comic shops on July 20th with a main cover by internationally renowned illustrator Jilipollo for the price of $3.99 under Diamond order code MAY161222. The Spanish-language version features a cover illustrated by series artist Raúl Treviño and bears Diamond code MAY168415. Also available is an Final Order Cutoff (FOC) incentive cover by Chris Brunner (Southern Bastards) (Diamond code MAY168414) that can be ordered in any quantity.
Readers interested in reserving a copy of issue #1 should contact their nearest comic retailer. The FOC deadline for retailers is June 27th. Not sure where to find your nearest comic retailer? Use comicshoplocator.com or findacomicshop.com to find one!

Sombra #1 FOC Variant Cover
Sombra #1 FOC Variant Cover by Chris Brunner

Sombra #1 Spanish Edition Cover
 Sombra #1 Spanish Edition Cover by Raúl Treviño


ABOUT BOOM! STUDIOS

Founded by Ross Richie in 2005, Diamond Gem Award-winning “Best Publisher” BOOM! Studios (boom-studios.com generates New York Times best-selling Eisner and Harvey Award-winning comic books and graphic novels. BOOM! Studios is comprised of four distinct imprints: the "Studios" imprint is home to The Woods, Grant Morrison's Klaus, and Big Trouble in Little China; imprint "BOOM! Box" publishes Lumberjanes, Steve Jackson Games' Munchkin, and Giant Days; All-Ages imprint "KaBOOM!" publishes Charles Schulz’ Peanuts; Jim Davis’ Garfield; and Cartoon Network’s Adventure Time; and the "Archaia" imprint is home to Mouse Guard, Cow Boy, and numerous Jim Henson Company properties. Since 2013, BOOM! Studios has had a unique first-look feature film relationship with 20th Century Fox and since August 2014 BOOM! has had a similar first-look relationship with Fox's television studio to develop properties for the small screen.

0 comments:

Post a Comment